The Blue Ribbon Panel of the 17th Cacique Awards has announced that there have been more nominees presented than in previous years.

The purpose of the Cacique Awards is to recognize the roles played by those individuals and organizations whose performance or products have consistently made a positive impact on the quality and the growth of tourism in The Bahamas.

This year, 110 nominees were presented from all over The Bahamas for 18 categories.

Two new categories have been added this year - the Blue Ribbon Panel Award and the Wilfred “Willie” Love Knowles Tourism awards.

During a press conference held at the British Colonial Hilton on Thursday, February 16, Permanent Secretary in the Ministry of Tourism and Chairman of the Cacique Awards Charles Albury said the Cacique Awards go beyond the sun, sand and sea of The Bahamas.

“The reason why the Ministry of Tourism created the Cacique Awards was to hold up exemplary service and celebrate it,” he said.

“This is what sets our destination a part of from the rest.”

Blue Ribbon Panel Chairwoman Angela Cleare said the guiding principles of selecting the winners are transparency and objectivity.

“As we continue to emphasize, any country can boast the most magnificent hotel properties, world-class visitor attractions and exclusive restaurants but it will count for nothing without the human element – the outstanding service quality which exceeds guest expectations. Guests are looking for value,” she said.

“The overall goal of our industry is to distinguish The Bahamas as a tourist destination that is synonymous with excellence in service and the Cacique Awards are designed to recognize, celebrate and award excellence.”

View the 17th Cacique Award Nominees!

International Categories will be revealed during the Cacique Awards. They include Tour Operator/ Travel Agent of the Year; Travel Writer of the Year; Cruise Line of the Year and Airline of the Year.

Tickets for the 17th Cacique Awards are $50 and will be available for purchase at the Ministry of Tourism.

The awards will be held on April 8th at the Baha Mar Convention Center on Cable Beach